OAKDALE ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE MINUTES OF THE 2024 ANNUAL MEMBER MEETING

Saturday, April 27, 2024

The 2024 Annual Member Meeting of Oakdale Electric Cooperative was held at Recreation Park, Recreation Building, 1625 Butts Ave, Tomah, WI, on Saturday, April 27, 2024. Registration of members in-person began at 8 a.m.

The meeting was called to order at 9 a.m. by Mr. Richard Barrett, Chairman of the Board of Directors.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE & INVOCATION

Mr. Barrett led the pledge of allegiance. Director James Van Wychen offered the invocation.

INTRODUCTIONS

Mr. Barrett introduced the Board of Directors: Robin Craker, Gregory Eirschele, Robert Hess, Martin Potter, James Van Wychen, Jonathan Williams. He introduced OEC General Manager & CEO Christopher Tackmann and Attorney John Behling. Attorney Behling will oversee the election of Board members. He recognized special guests: Representative Nancy VanderMeer, and Dana Kelroy, editor, Wisconsin Energy Cooperative News.

QUORUM

Mr. Williams, the Secretary, informed Mr. Barrett that 119 members had registered. Chairman Barrett declared a quorum present, in accordance with Oakdale Electric Cooperative Bylaws Section 4, which provide that the number of members to constitute a quorum at a meeting of members shall be fifty. Mr. Barrett then declared the meeting officially in session.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA AND NOTICE REQUIREMENTS

On a motion duly made, seconded, and carried, a Consent Agenda was approved and adopted by the members that included the following:

- 1. The proposed 2024 Annual Meeting Program Agenda was approved as mailed to the membership with the Notice of Meeting.
- 2. The reading of the Notice of Meeting was waived.
- 3. Reading of the minutes of the April 29, 2023, Oakdale Electric Cooperative Annual Membership Meeting was waived, and the minutes were approved as posted on the cooperative's website.

ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

Attorney Behling conducted the election of directors, for a term of three years to fill the vacancies caused by the expiration of the terms of James Van Wychen, District No. 2, Richard Barrett, District No. 4, and Martin Potter, District No. 5.

Attorney Behling described the process under the Cooperative's bylaws by which the nomination and election of directors are conducted. He explained to the membership that under the Bylaws, directors are nominated by signature of 15 members from the district they reside in. Each candidate present was given the opportunity to address the membership.

Consistent with the Cooperative Bylaws, the Board of Directors authorized voting for directors at this year's annual meeting to be conducted by mail-in and or by electronic ballots. Ballots to vote for directors were mailed to all Oakdale Electric Cooperative members who were in good standing as of the date of record, which was March 25, 2024. Ballots were required to be received at Survey & Ballot Systems, PO Box 46430, Eden Prairie, MN 55344 no later than April 25, 2024, to be counted.

Electronic ballots to vote for directors were enabled online on March 25, 2024, at 8 a.m. Broadcast emails were sent to Oakdale Electric Cooperative member's email accounts who were in good standing and active on March 25, April 8, and April 22, 2024, with online voting options. Electronic ballots to vote for directors were closed online on April 25, 2024, at 4 p.m.

Members who did not wish to vote by mail-in ballot were provided a ballot, upon registering for the annual meeting, to cast a ballot. The tellers were instructed to collect and count the marked ballots.

James Van Wychen was uncontested for District No. 2. Richard Barrett was uncontested for District No. 4. Martin Potter was uncontested for District No. 5.

The results of the director election are as follows:

District No. 2: James Van Wychen District No. 4: Richard Barrett District No. 5: Martin Potter

Each of these directors will serve for three (3) years. A signed copy of the teller report is included in the 2024 annual meeting file.

OFFICER REPORT

The report from the General Manager & CEO was given.

QUESTIONS AND ANSWER SESSION

There were several questions from the floor regarding the following topics: rebates, solar energy, and battery storage.

ADOPTION OF AMENDMENTS TO THE BYLAWS

Attorney Behling reviewed the proposed bylaw changes submitted to the membership. This amendment proposes to make changes to two (2) sections of the bylaws, including the addition of another subsection. The changes are summarized as follows:

- Language in Article III, Section 4(b) will be updated so that a petition to nominate a candidate for director requires ten (10) signatures instead of fifteen (15) signatures.
- Language in Article III, Section 4 will be updated to provide that uncontested direction elections may be conducted by unanimous consent, voice vote, electronic voting, or similar means.
- This language will be Article III, Section 4 (c) and what was Article III, Section 4 (c) prior to the amendment will be Article III, Section 4 (d).

At this point Attorney Behling stated that he would entertain a motion in favor of the proposal to amend Article III, Section 4 and 4(b) of the bylaws, including the addition of another subsection, as stated in the annual report that accompanied the notice of the meeting. A summary was also published in the 2023 Annual Report

There was a motion, and a second. There being no further questions, Attorney Behling called for a motion to approve the proposed Bylaws. Motion carried to approve the amendments as presented in the annual meeting notice. Motion carried.

BALLOTS

Chairman Barrett asked for a motion to destroy the written ballots cast for director elections. There was a motion, and a second to destroy all ballots. Motion carried.

MEETING ATTENDANCE PRIZES

The member receiving a \$250 Co-op Cash Card was: Kris Friedl, Tomah. The five members receiving \$100 Co-op Cash Card were: Les Hoag, Tomah, Sue Pergande, Tomah, Arden Eberhardt, Kendall, Duane Weisensel, Sun Prairie, and Sandy Baumgarten, Tomah. The three members receiving an EV & Ice Cream prize were: Don Swenson, Norwalk, Tim Jones, Warrens, Karen Arzt, Kendall. The two members receiving a tree planting were: Steven Suehring, Necedah, and Sandra Jordan, Tomah. The two members receiving bird houses were: Nana Griffin, Warrens, and Joan Holig, New Lisbon. It was announced all members attending the meeting would receive a cookie and gift certificate from Kwik Trip as a thank you gift for

ADJOURN There being no further business to come before meeting adjourned at approximately 10:05 a.m.	<u> </u>
	Respectfully Submitted,
Approved 2025	Deana Protz, Assistant Secretary
Approved,, 2025	

attending the meeting.

Jonathan Williams, Secretary